Skip to main content

2019 New Faculty Awards

Saturday, April 6, 2019
McGovern Davison Children's Health Center

In FY19, the Department of Pediatrics will institute a new faculty award, the Master Clinician Award and membership into the newly created Pediatric Scholars Society, as part of the department's Faculty and Staff Awards program.

Master Clinician Award

The Master Clinician Award will recognize outstanding clinicians in the Department.  Four awardees will be selected in the first year and two in subsequent years.

This award recognizes active clinicians in the department with over five years of patient care service who have demonstrated and modeled a commitment to patient wellbeing and exceptional efforts to improve delivery of care. Awardees should be role models who demonstrate excellence in mentorship, clinical reasoning, superior pediatric knowledge, diagnostic skills, and excellence in “bedside” teaching. In addition, awardees should exemplify professional behavior, demonstrate compassion and have excellent communication skills. Master Clinicians are expected to be active mentors.

Individuals receiving this award will be become members of the Pediatric Scholars Society.


Physician faculty with five or more years of clinical service at Duke.


Nominations will be solicited from pediatric faculty, trainees, advanced practitioners, nurses and allied health personnel. Self-nominations are not permitted.

The primary nomination letter should be limited to two pages and provide specific examples of why the nominee deserves the award. Nominations may be accompanied by up to two supporting letters. Multiple individuals may sign the nominating and supporting letters. The division chief, if not a nominee, must sign or co-sign the primary nominating letter.

Selection Process

For the first year of the award, the department chair and vice chairs will select award recipients. In subsequent years, recipients will be selected by previous awardees.

Pediatric Scholars Society

The Pediatric Scholars Society recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the Department of Pediatrics, School of Medicine, Duke University Health System, and/or Private Diagnostic Clinic.  An individual inducted into the Society will be an active member throughout their departmental career. Society members will be invited by the chair to a biannual celebratory dinner to recognize the new members and the Society’s accomplishments.

Membership in the Pediatric Scholars Society can be attained by one or more of the following accomplishments:

School of Medicine Awards

  • Master Clinician/Teacher Award
  • Michelle P. Winn Inclusive Excellence Award
  • Gordon G. Hammes Faculty Teaching Award
  • Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award
  • Leonard Palumbo, Jr., MD Faculty Achievement Award

  • The Ruth and A. Morris Williams, Jr. Faculty Research Prize

  • Excellence in Professionalism Award

  • Research Mentoring Award

  • Distinguished Alumni Award

  • Distinguished Professorship

  • Distinguished Faculty Award

  • Williams Faculty Research Prize

  • William G. Anlyan, MD, Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Golden Apple Award

Department of Pediatrics Awards

  • Samuel L. Katz Teaching Award
  • Faculty Mentoring Award
  • Master Clinician Award
  • Michael M. Frank Research Prize