Advisory Boards

Internal Advisory Board

Daniel Benjamn, MD, PhD, MPH
Kiser-Arena Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics
Professor of Pediatrics (Infectious Diseases)
Deputy Executive Director, Duke Clinical Research Institute
PI, NICHD Pediatric Trials Network

Carolyn Coyne, PhD
Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Professor of Pathology
Member in the Duke Human Vaccine Institute
Member of the Duke Cancer Institute

Gregory Crawford, PhD
Professor of Pediatrics
Associate Professor in Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Affiliate of the Duke Regeneration Center

Rasheed Gbadegesin, MD, MBBS
Wilbert C. Davison Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics
Professor of Pediatrics (Nephrology)
Associate Dean for Physician-Scientist Development
Director, Office of Physician-Scientist Development in the School of Medicine
Professor of Medicine (Nephrology)

Allan Kirk, MD, PhD
David C. Sabiston, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Surgery
Chair, Department of Surgery
Vice Dean, Surgical Services
Professor of Surgery
Professor of Pediatrics
Professor in the Department of Immunology
Member, National Academy of Medicine

Michael Pencina, PhD
Professor of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics
Vice Dean, Data Science and Information Technology
Director of AI Health
Membership in the Duke Clinical Research Institute


External Advisory Board

Sherin Devaskar, MD
Distinguished Professor Pediatrics
Mattel Executive Endowed Chair of the Department of Pediatrics, David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA
Physician-in-Chief, Mattel Children's Hospital, UCLA
Assistant Vice Chancellor of Children's Health, UCLA Health
Executive Director, Children's Discovery and Innovation Institute (CDI)
Member, National Academy of Science

Phyllis Dennery, MD
Sylvia K. Hassenfeld Professor Professor of Pediatrics, Warren Alpert Medical School
Chair of Pediatrics, Warren Alpert Medical School
Pediatrician-in-Chief, Medical Director, Hasbro Children's Hospital
Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology and Biochemistry, Brown University

Eugenie Kleinerman, MD
Professor of Pediatrics, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Mary V. and John A. Reilly Distinguished Chair
Professor of Cancer Biology

Sandra Lehman, MD
Trained in pediatric infectious diseases with a focus on immunizations
Served as Global Director, Scientific Affairs, Merck Research Laboratories
Currently retired but remains active as a community advocate for science and research development

Jim Baker
Chair, Duke Children's National Leadership Council
Member, Duke Medicine Board of Visitors
Founder and CEO, Sumus Development Group, Inc.
Served as Chief Development Officer, Chiltem