Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff Awards

Thursday, June 11, 2020
McGovern Davison Children's Health Center

Each year the Duke Department of Pediatrics recognizes the excellence of faculty and staff accomplishments through the presentation of faculty and staff awards. With these awards, we celebrate individuals who have demonstrated their commitment to learning, discovery, engagement, and leadership which are the cornerstones of the department's mission.

Faculty Awards

William A. Cleland Diversity and Inclusion Award

This award is given to a faculty member, staff member or trainee who excels in promoting and enhancing diversity and inclusiveness as detailed in the department’s mission statement on diversity and inclusion.

Faculty Mentor Award

This award is given to a faculty member who excels as a mentor of faculty and/or trainees in all aspects of faculty or trainee responsibilities, including patient care, teaching, research, leadership and advocacy.

Michael M. Frank Research Prize

This award was established by the Duke Children’s National Advisory Board in 2004 and is awarded annually to a member of the Duke University community who has made significant contributions in clinical, basic, translational or educational research that advances child health.

Master Clinician Award

This award recognizes active clinicians in the department who have demonstrated and modeled a commitment to patient well-being and exceptional efforts to improve delivery of care. Awardees are role models who demonstrate excellence in mentorship, clinical reasoning, superior pediatric knowledge, diagnostic skills, and excellence in “bedside” teaching.  Awardees also exemplify professional behavior, demonstrate compassion, have excellent communication skills, and are active mentors.

  • Ronald Goldberg, MD
    Dorothy J. Shaad/Angus M. McBryde, Sr. Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics in the School of Medicine
    Division of Neonatology
  • Edward Smith, MD
    Associate Professor of Pediatrics
    Division of Neurology

Staff Awards

Diane Crayton Award
This award is given to an administrative professional who demonstrates the qualities exemplified by Diane during her career, including dedication to the department, service to others, and constant pursuit of excellence.

  • Angie Ladd
    Financial Management Analyst

Unsung Hero Award

This award recognizes a staff member who has consistently provided significant service in support of the department over a period of time. Excellence in the quality of work performed is the standard used for selecting the recipient, but of equal importance is the likelihood that the employee’s work goes unnoticed by much of the department.

  • Patsy Chase
    Staff Assistant

Excellence in Leadership Award

This award recognizes a staff member who exhibits outstanding accomplishments in leadership and management.

  • Kiana Dailey
    Departmental Business Manager
    Chair’s Office

Excellence in Teamwork Award

This award recognizes a group or team that works effectively together to accomplish the mission/goals of the department and whose efforts have significantly impacted the department.

Infectious Diseases Team

  • Mary Jo Hassett
    Nursing Coordinator
  • Rachel Dizney
    Clinical Social Worker
  • Jennie Dougherty
    Nurse Practitioner
  • Betsy Faust
    Staff Assistant

Customer Service Award

This award recognizes an employee who demonstrates outstanding customer service.

  • Cherrita McCoy
    Staff Assistant
    Chair’s Office

Children’s Championship Award

This award recognizes individuals who work outside of the department and have crossed reporting barriers to go above and beyond to help patients and improve the work environment.

PDC Legal Team

  • Kelly Pollock
  • Freddie Zuefelt
  • Drew Kifner
  • Guy Decarlucci