New and competing renewal awards for October 2022

The following are new and competing renewal awards made to faculty in the Department of Pediatrics through the month of October 2022. Please extend your congratulations to the following individuals.

Kathryn H. Blew (Endocrinology) received an award from the Endocrine Fellows Foundation for a project entitled, Sleep and Insulin Resistance: The Impact of Gender Affirming Hormone Therapy in the Adolescent Transgender Population.
The project period is 11/01/2022-10/31/2023.

Naomi Duke (General Pediatrics and Adolescent Health) received an award from RTI Scholars Program for a project entitled, Youth Belief in a Future is an Equity Issue. The project period is 10/03/2022-10/02/2023.

Elizabeth Erickson (General Pediatrics and Adolescent Health) received an award from Reach Out and Read for a project entitled, Early Relational Health Education in Continuity Clinic: A Novel Utilization of Reach Out and Read. The project period is 07/01/2022-06/30/2024.

Chi Hornik (Critical Care Medicine) received an award from Merck Sharp & Dohme for a project entitled, Merck: Palivizumab (MK 1654). The project period is 10/10/2022-12/31/2024.

Ibukunoluwa Kalu (Infectious Diseases) received an award from Bristol Myers Squibb for a project entitled, Maternal Predictors of Early Childhood Bacterial Colonization or Invasive Infection. The project period is 10/14/2022-10/13/2024.

Priya Kishnani (Medical Genetics) received an award from Kriya Therapeutics for a project entitled, Gene Therapy for the Treatment of GSD VI and IX A2: Determination of Efficacy between Duke Plasmids and Kriya Plasmids for restoring PYGL and PHKA2 (the “Project”). The project period is 10/13/2022-03/07/2023.

Marie McDonald (Medical Genetics) received an award from Genzyme Fellowship for a project entitled, Residency/Fellowship Training in Medical Genetics. The project period is 10/10/2022-06/30/2024.

Rachel Randall (Rheumatology) received an award from Lupus Foundation of America Grant for a project entitled, Optimizing Adherence in Pediatric Lupus Using an App-Based Medication Diary. The project period is 11/01/2022-1031/2024.

Lars Wagner (Hematology-Oncology) received an award from Public Health Institute/Amgen for a project entitled, Risk-Str-atified Randomized Phase III Testing of Blinatumomab (IND# 117467, NSC#765986) in First Relapse of Childhood B-Lymphoblastic Leukemia (B-ALL). The project period is 03/04/2022-02/28/2025.

Kristin Weimer (Neonatology) received an award from the University of Utah for a project entitled, Neochip for Specific and Rapid Identification of Congenital CMV and Neonatal HSV Infections on Minimal Sample Volume. The project period is 09/01/2022-06/30/2025.

Muhammad Zafar (Neurology) received an award from Neurelis for a project entitled, An Open-Label, Single-Dose, Pharmacokinetics Study of Valtoco with Open-Label Safety Perio in Pediatric Subjects with Epilepsy. The project period is 08/10/2022-04/30/2023.

Congratulations to these faculty on their awards and best wishes to them in their investigative work.

Christoph Hornik, MD, MPH
Vice Chair, Research
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Division of Critical Care Medicine
Chief, Division of Quantitative Sciences