New and competing renewal awards for March 2023

The following are new and competing renewal awards made to faculty in the Department of Pediatrics through the month of March 2023.  Please extend your congratulations to the following individuals.

C. Michael Cotten (Neonatology) received an award from the National Institutes of Health/NICHD, entitled North Carolina Clinical Center. The project period is 04/01/2023-03/31/2030.

Michael Deel  (Hematology-Oncology) received an award from the Department of Defense, entitled Vulnerabilities in the Transcriptional Program of Fusion-Positive Rhabdomyosarcoma. The project period is 04/01/2023-03/31/2026.

Priya Kishnani (Medical Genetics) received an award from Takeda Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc, entitled Duke University Fellowship in Genetics with Emphasis on Lysosomal Storage Disorders (LSD). The project period is 07/01/2023-06/30/2024.

Lars Wagner (Hematology-Oncology) received an award from Public Health Institute/AstraZeneca, entitled A Phase 3 Randomized Study of Selumetinib versus Carboplatin/Vincristine in Children with Newly Diagnosed or Previously Untreated Neurofibromatosis Type 1 (NF!) Associated with Low-Grade Glioma (LGG) (CRADA 02172. The project period is 07/15/2022-07/14/2024.

Emmanuel Walter (Infectious Diseases) received an award from Leidos Biomedical Research  Inc./ NIH, entitled A Phase 2 Randomized, Open-Label, Multisite Trial to Inform Public Health Strategies Involving the Use of MVABN Vaccine for Mpox. The project period is 04/01/2023-10/31/2024.

Muhammad Zafar (Neurology) received an award from Marinus Pharmaceutical, entitled A Phase 3, Double-blind, Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Trial of Adjunctive Ganaxolone (GNX) Treatment in Children and Adults with Tuberous Sclerosis Complex (TSC) related Epilepsy. The project period is 03/04/2023-11/01/2023.

Sarah Young (Medical Genetics) received an award from Brigham and Women’s Hospital, entitled Biochemical Studies in CNS-ERT Treated Pompe Mice”. The project period is 02/08/2023-02/07/2024.

Noelle Younge (Neonatology) received an award from Abbott Laboratories, entitled Growth and Tolerance of Preterm Infants Fed an Experimental Human Milk Fortifier. The project period is 03/20/2023-05/01/2024.

Congratulations to these faculty on their awards and best wishes to them in their investigative work.

Christoph Hornik, MD, MPH
Vice Chair, Research
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Division of Critical Care Medicine
Chief, Division of Quantitative Sciences