New and competing renewal awards for February 2023

The following is a list of new and competing renewal awards that were made to faculty in the Department of Pediatrics for the month of February 2023. Please extend your congratulations to the following individuals. 

Jennifer Cohen (Medical Genetics) received an award from the University of California San Francisco/NIH entitled, Phase 1 Study of in Utero Enzyme Replacement Therapy for the Treatment of Lysosomal Storage Diseases. The project period is 07/01/2022-06/30/2027.

Rasheed Gbadegesin (Nephrology) received an award from the National Institutes of Health/NIDDK entitled, Regulators of Calcineurin Pathways as Diagnostic and Therapeutic Targets for Nephrotic Syndrome. The project period is 02/01/2023-12/31/2026.

Priya Kishnani (Medical Genetics) received an award from Kriya Therapeutics entitled, Transfer of AAV-HPHKG2 Materials for Bridging Study. The project period is 02/19/2023-01/31/2024.

Edward Smith (Neurology) received an award from Pfizer entitled, Long-Term Follow-Up Safety and Efficacy Study in Participants with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy who have received  Fordadistrogene Movaparvovec in a Preceding Clinical Trial. The project period is 02/09/2023-12/31/2032.

Michael Smith (Infectious Diseases) received an award from Marshall University entitled, Development and Validation of a Statewide Medicaid Provider Feedback Dashboard for Outpatient Antibiotic Prescribing in Children. The project period is 09/30/2022-12/31/2024.

Shatha Yousef (Pulmonary and Sleep Medicine) and Jennifer Edelschick (Pulmonary and Sleep Medicine) received an award from the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation entitled, Award for a Physical Therapist 2022.  The project dates are 07/01/2022-06/30/2023.

Muhammad Zafar (Neurology) received an award from SK Life Science entitled, A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Multicenter Study to evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Cenobamate Adjunctive Therapy in Subject’s with Primary Generalized Tonic-Clonic Seizures. The project period is 12/12/2022-09/12/2024.

Congratulations to these faculty on their awards and best wishes to them in their investigative work.

Christoph Hornik, MD, MPH
Vice Chair, Research
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Division of Critical Care Medicine
Chief, Division of Quantitative Sciences