Skip to main content

New and competing renewal awards for February 2020

Friday, March 20, 2020
McGovern Davison Children's Health Center

The following are new and competing renewal awards made to faculty in the Department of Pediatrics through the month of February 2020. Please extend your congratulations to the following individuals.

Debra Best, MD (Primary Care) received an award from Center for Child and Family Health in the amount $470,550 for a project entitled, Responsive Early Access for Durham’s Young Children. The project period is 09/01/2019-0/31/2024.

C. Michael Cotten, MD, MHS (Neonatology) received an award from Baebies, Inc. in the amount of $80,500 for a project entitled, Multiplex Platform for Point-of-Care Newborn Screening of Hyperbilirubinemia. The project period is 08/13/2019-07/31/2020.

Rachel Greenberg, MD (Neonatology) received an award from Rice University in the amount of $52,324 for a project entitled CEHI Data Management. The project period is 01/01/2020-06/30/2020.

Baodong Sun, PhD (Medical Genetics) received an award from University of Pennsylvania in the amount of $52,509 for a project entitled, Gene Therapy for Adult Polygucosan Body Disease (APBD). The project period is 02/01/2020-01/31/2021.

Amelia Thompson, MD, MPH (Infectious Diseases) received an award from Moderna Therapeutics, Inc., in the amount of $91,190 for a project entitled, A Phase 1b, Randomized, Observer-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Dose Ranging Study to Evaluate the Safety and Immunogenicity of mRNA-1653 a Combined Human Metapneumovirus (hMPV) and Parainfluenza Virus T. The project period is 03/01/2020-03/31/2021.

Emmanuel Walter, MD, MPH (Primary Care Pediatrics) received an award from Johns Hopkins University in the amount of $19,847 for a project entitled IMPAACT PTCL. The project period is 12/01/2019-11/30/2020.

Charlene Wong, MD, MSPH (Primary Care Pediatrics) received an award from Kate B. Reynolds in the amount of $439,524 for a  project entitled Characterizing Health Disparities in the Shift of North Carolina Medicaid Managed Care. The award period is 02/01/2020-01/31/2021.

Congratulations to these faculty on their awards and best wishes to them in their investigative work.

Coleen K. Cunningham, MD
Vice Chair, Research
Professor of Pediatrics
Division of Infectious Diseases
Chief, Division of Global Health