Skip to main content

New and competing renewal awards for April 2020

Friday, May 22, 2020

The following are new and competing renewal awards made to faculty in the Department of Pediatrics through the month of April 2020.  Please extend your congratulations to the following individuals.

Coleen Cunningham, MD (Infectious Diseases) received an award from U.S. Department of Health and Human Services/HRSA in the amount of $37,714.00 for a project entitled “Ryan White HIV/Aids Program Part D WICY COVID-19 Response”. The project period is 04/01/2020-03/31/2021.

Genevieve Fouda, PhD (Infectious Diseases) received an award from National Institutes of Health/NICHD in the amount of $442,750 for a project entitled “Molecular Signatures of Broad Neutralization in HIV Infected Children”. The project period is 05/06/2020-04/30/2022.

Priya Kishnani, MD, MBBS (Medical Genetics) received an award from Amicus Therapeutics in the amount of $451,734 for a project entitled “A Phase 3 Double-Blind Randomized Study To Assess The Efficacy And Safety of Intravenous ATB200 Co-Administered With Oral AT2221 In Adult Subjects With Late-Onset Pompe Disease Compared With Alglucosidase Alfa/Placebo”. The project period is 04/13/2020-11/30/2024.

Paul Martin, MD, PhD (Blood and Marrow Transplantation) received an award from BlueBird Bio in the amount of $782,872 for a project entitled “A Phase 3 study evaluating Gene Therapy by Transplantation of Autologous cd34+ Stem Cells Transduced ex vivo with the Lentiglobin bb305 Lentiviral Vector in Subjects with Severe Sickle Cell Disease”. The project period is 04/17/2020-03/29/2022.

Neeraj Surana, MD, PhD (Infectious Diseases) received an award from The Hartwell Foundation in the amount of $300,000 for a project entitled” Developing Bacterian-Deriived Therapies to Cure Inlammator”.  The project period is 04/01/2020-03/31/2023.

Dimitry Tchapyjnikov, MD (Neurology) received an award from Will Medical College of Cornell in the amount of $ 7,000 for a project entitled” A Learning Healthcare System for Pediatric Epilepsy. The project period is 10/01/2019-09/30/2020.

Kristin Weimer, MD, PhD, MHS (Neonatology) received an award from Merck in the amount of $204,986 for a project entitled” Improved CMV Dried Bloods Sot PCR for Universal CMV Screening”.  The project period is 03/20/2020-10/31/2020.

Muhammad Zafar, MBBS (Neurology) received an award from Bio-Pharm Solutions in the amount of $133,678 for a project entitled “A Phase 2 Study to Assess the Safety, Tolerability, Exploratory Efficacy, and Pharmacokinetics of Orally Administered JBPOS0101 for Refractory Infantile Spasms Patients”. The project period is 03/26/2020-01/31/2021.

Xiaoping Zhong, MD, PhD (Allergy and Immunology) received an award from the National Institutes of Health/NIAID in the amount of $442,750 for project entitled” TSC1 in Alveolar Macrophages Development and Function”. The project period is 04/01/2020-03/31/2022.  

Congratulations to these faculty on their awards and best wishes to them in their investigative work.

Coleen K. Cunningham, MD
Vice Chair, Research
Professor of Pediatrics
Division of Infectious Diseases
Chief, Division of Global Health