Skip to main content

Four Pediatrics faculty selected for Leadership Development for Researchers (LEADER) Program

Monday, December 21, 2020
Trent Semans Center

Four faculty from the Department of Pediatrics have been selected for the School of Medicine Office for Faculty's 2021 LEADER program.

The Leadership Development for Researchers (LEADER) Program is designed for junior faculty who are leading a research group and driving their own research agenda. The course provides insight into leadership and team building as well as direction on how to develop and manage a scientific laboratory or research program, how to improve productivity, and how to harness creativity and innovation.

The program was developed to bridge the gap between the scientific expertise that led individuals to a career in academic medicine, and the management skills that will be required to succeed as the leaders of small business units. Faculty in this program were competitively selected to participate. Congratulations to our 2021 LEADER participants!

2021 LEADER Cohort from the Department of Pediatrics

Stephen Balevic, MD, MHS 
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics

Dorothy Dow, MD, MSc 
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Infectious Diseases

Neeraj Surana, MD, PhD 
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Infectious Diseases

Muhammad Zafar, MBBS 
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics


See the full list of 2021 LEADER participants