Skip to main content

Child Abuse and Neglect

The goal of the Pediatric Child Abuse and Neglect Training Program is the consummate preparation of physicians as Child Abuse and Neglect Specialists. The Fellowship Training Program meets this goal by building on the established tradition of excellence while developing new ideas in the following areas: mentorship/professional development, fellowship balance, education, patient care, and research.

Child Abuse Pediatrics is currently recognized by the American Board of Pediatrics as an official subspecialty of pediatrics. Physicians who successfully complete a three year ACGME fellowship in Child Abuse are eligible to take the Child Abuse Boards. The Duke Department of Pediatrics has an ACGME-accredited fellowship in Child Abuse Pediatrics as of October 2013. 

Program Overview

 
Positions offered per year
One every three years
 
Fellowship opening Applications accepted July 2019 for fellowship beginning July 2020
Current number of fellows

One

Program duration

Three years

Accrediting body
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)
 
Match participation?
Yes
 
Contact person
Philip Jackson
Program Coordinator
919.681.4844
philip.r.jackson@duke.edu
 
How to apply
 
Please contact Dr. Narayan with questions. Prerequisite: Successful completion of three-year Pediatric Residency in an ACGME accredited training program.
 
Program leadership
Aditee Narayan, MD, MPH
Fellowship Program Director
Professor of Pediatrics
919.681.5726
aditee.narayan@duke.edu
 
Lindsay Terrell, MD
Associate Program Director
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
919.681.6775
 
Fellowship faculty / staff

Karen St. Claire, MD
Medical Director, Child Abuse and Neglect Service
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
919.479.2691
stcla002@mc.duke.edu

Aditee Narayan, MD, MPH
Fellowship Program Director
Professor of Pediatrics
919.681.5726
aditee.narayan@duke.edu

Lindsay Terrell, MD
Associate Program Director
Clinical Director, Duke Foster Care Clinic
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
919.681.6775
lindsay.terrell@duke.edu

Beth Herold, DNP
Pediatric Nurse Practitioner
Duke Child Abuse and Neglect Medical Evaluation Team
919.479.2692
beth.herold@duke.edu

Scott Snider, LCSW
Clinical Coordinator and Diagnostic Interviewer
919.479.2694
scott.snider@duke.edu

Alissa Castaneda, LCSW
Case Manager and Diagnostic Interviewer
919.620.5296
alissa.castaneda@duke.edu

Kerreance Turner
Staff Assistant
919.479.2690
kerreance.turner@duke.edu
 

Current fellows Third Year
Stephanie MacPherson, MD