Skip to main content

Child Abuse and Neglect

The goal of the Pediatric Child Abuse and Neglect Training Program is the consummate preparation of physicians as Child Abuse and Neglect Specialists. The Fellowship Training Program meets this goal by building on the established tradition of excellence while developing new ideas in the following areas: mentorship/professional development, fellowship balance, education, patient care, and research.

Child Abuse Pediatrics is currently recognized by the American Board of Pediatrics as an official subspecialty of pediatrics. Physicians who successfully complete a three year ACGME fellowship in Child Abuse are eligible to take the Child Abuse Boards. The Duke Department of Pediatrics has an ACGME-accredited fellowship in Child Abuse Pediatrics as of October 2013. 

Program Overview

 
Positions offered per year
One every three years
 
Fellowship opening Applications accepted July 2022 for fellowship beginning July 2023
Program duration

Three years

Accrediting body
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)
 
Match participation?
Yes
 
Contact person
Marissa Ivester
Fellowship Coordinator
919.681.4844
DUMC, Box 3899
Durham, NC  27710
Email: marissa.ivester@duke.edu
 
How to apply
 
Please contact Dr. Lindsay Terrell with questions. Prerequisite: Successful completion of three-year Pediatric Residency in an ACGME accredited training program.
 
Program leadership
Lindsay Terrell, MD
Fellowship Program Director
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
919.681.6775
 
Fellowship faculty / staff

Aditee Narayan, MD, MPH
Section Chief, Child Abuse and Neglect
Professor of Pediatrics
919.479.2690
aditee.narayan@duke.edu

Lindsay Terrell, MD
Fellowship Program Director
Clinical Director, Duke Foster Care Clinic
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
919.681.6775
lindsay.terrell@duke.edu

Karen St. Claire, MD
Child Abuse Pediatrician
Professor of Pediatrics
919.479.2691
stcla002@mc.duke.edu

Beth Herold, DNP
Pediatric Nurse Practitioner
Duke Child Abuse and Neglect Medical Evaluation Team
919.479.2692
beth.herold@duke.edu

Scott Snider, LCSW
Training Coordinator
919.479.2694
scott.snider@duke.edu

Hayley Marcoplos, LCSW
Clinical Social Worker and Case Manager
919.620.5296
hayley.marcoplos@duke.edu

Kerreance Turner
Staff Assistant
919.479.2690
kerreance.turner@duke.edu