Skip to main content

Steinbach wins 2017 IDSA Oswald Avery Award

Friday, October 6, 2017
William Steinbach

William J. Steinbach, MD, professor of pediatrics and chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases and professor of molecular genetics and microbiology, has received the 2017 Oswald Avery Award. The Oswald Avery Award for early achievement is granted in recognition of outstanding achievement in an area of infectious diseases by an individual member or fellow of IDSA who is 45 or younger. Steinbach is being recognized for quickly becoming an international leader as an investigator studying the molecular basis and clinical manifestations of invasive fungal infections. 

Steinbach’s laboratory investigates the molecular pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of invasive aspergillosis caused by the deadly fungus Aspergillus fumigatus. He is also the co-founder and continuing co-chairman of the International Advances Against Aspergillosis scientific conferences. His clinical research endeavors complement his scientific work, and he is the founder and director of the 53-site International Pediatric Fungal Network, currently funded by over $7M in NIH funds to lead ground-breaking treatment and diagnostic clinical studies in pediatric invasive fungal disease. He also serves as the program training director for the Duke Pediatric Infectious Diseases Fellowship Program and co-directs the Tri-Institutional Molecular Mycology and Pathogenesis Training Program (MMPTP), each funded by NIH training grants.

Steinbach has written extensively on invasive fungal infections and antifungal agents and lectured around the globe. He has served as editor for a total of six textbooks, including as the antifungal therapy editor for several editions of the American Academy of Pediatrics best-selling Nelson’s Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy, the co-editor of the 7th and 8th editions of Feigin & Cherry’s Textbook of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, and co-editor for the American Society for Microbiology’s textbook, "Aspergillus fumigatus and Aspergillosis."

“Bill is an innovative scientist, committed mentor, and an international force through his leadership of a worldwide effort to treat pediatric fungal infections,” said Ann M. Reed, MD, chair of the Department of Pediatrics. “This is well-­deserved recognition for Bill’s stellar track record as a clinical and translational investigator.”

Steinbach will accept the award during IDWeek 2017, which is being held October 4 - 8 in San Diego.

“This is really a huge honor because it also reflects the many wonderful people and mentors at Duke who have been such a critical part of the last 15 years of my infectious disease research, says Steinbach. "I am also very excited to be one of the few pediatricians recognized in my field’s larger society that is composed of mainly adult subspecialists.” 

Previous Oswald Avery Award recipients from the Duke School of Medicine include Vance Fowler, MD (2008) and Joseph Heitman, MD, PhD (2003). Notably, Steinbach is just the third pediatrician to win this award in the last 50 years.

About IDSA

​The Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA) represents physicians, scientists and other health care professionals who specialize in infectious diseases. IDSA’s purpose is to improve the health of individuals, communities, and society by promoting excellence in patient care, education, research, public health, and prevention relating to infectious diseases.