Skip to main content

Staff Spotlight: Trevor Pfeiffer

Friday, August 10, 2018
Trevor Pfeiffer

This week’s Staff Spotlight shines on Trevor Pfeiffer, who talks to us about his data management responsibilities in the Division of Infectious Diseases, spending time with his two rescue dogs—Rally and Taylor, and his experience refurbishing a 1927 log cabin in Hillsborough.

What brought you to Duke? How long have you been in the Division of Infectious Diseases?
In high school I lucked out and got a job over the summer for the Duke Dept. of Neuroproteomics, using software to separate proteins from imaging defects. While attending NC State, I worked for a couple of summers helping Peds ID with some simple financial stuff (reconciling, etc.) and updating some patient info. After graduating from NC State, I came back to Peds ID to manage the data for the Ryan White Part D (RWD) grant. So I’ve been with Duke for around 12 years, with Peds ID for 10 years, and in my current position for 8.  

What does your work as a Data Manager involve? What does a typical day for you look like?
I enter the data for our site and monitor the data for the three other sites covered under our RWD grant--generating reports and helping with quality improvement projects.  I also create the clinic front-sheets for the RWD patients, help with the occasional REDCap project, and some Deduce research/QI data pulls. 

What do you enjoy most about your work?
I can simplify and make use of the data collected to help positively impact patient outcomes.  

What do you enjoy most about working in the Division of Infectious Diseases?
My coworkers are the best. Everyone is pleasant -- which is perfectly preferable to being persistently in the presence of pessimists.  

What’s one thing about you that most people don’t know?
I’ve been working for the past two years on refurbishing a 1927 log cabin in Hillsborough. Completely gutted it to the shell and rebuilt it--new electrical, plumbing, HVAC, framing, insulation, drywall, paint, and I’m now on to flooring (almost done!). I have done the majority of the work myself--only contracted out half the drywall install and a new roof. The county will allow you to do permitted work on your own home, so I did – learning from books, YouTube, and internet guides.    

What was the best advice you ever received?
“Go fast and you won't stick” - Grandpa Don. If you’re going through the mud you might as well do it as fast as you can, you’re less likely to get bogged down and make it through.   

What passions or hobbies do you have outside of work?
I have two shelter-rescue dogs, a 1970 VW Beetle, and the above-mentioned cabin that take up most of my free time--between attention, walks, and constant maintenance/repairs. In the small remainder, I enjoy PC gaming--mostly single player rpgs, but currently Elder Scrolls Online.