Skip to main content

Special Population Pilot awardees announced

Thursday, May 16, 2019
Charlene Wong

Duke CTSI has announced the winners of its 2018 and 2019 Special Populations Pilot Award RFA. Two projects have been selected for their outstanding potential to facilitate research that promotes health equity for groups who have traditionally been underrepresented in health research or excluded altogether.

The awarded projects are eligible for up to $25,000 in funding each, provided by Duke’s Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) from the National Institutes of Health for a one-year funding cycle. This funding opportunity is one of several offered by Duke CTSI Accelerator, which also provides project management support to research teams.

The project selected for the Special Population Pilot Award (2018-2019 cycle) is:

Quantifying opioid exposure and harms in North Carolina children—a required foundation for action
Principal Investigators: Sudha Raman and Charlene Wong
Co-Investigators: Beth Gifford, David Anderson, Michael Smith, Aaron McKethan, Asheley Skinner, Jillian Hurst, and Nidhi Sachdeva

The project selected for the Special Population Pilot Award (2019-2020 cycle) is:

Biopsychosocial Determinants of Pain in Sickle Cell Disease 
Principal Investigators: Mitchell Knisely
Co-Investigators: Nirmish Shah, Julia Walker

Applications for the next cycle of Special Populations Pilot awards will be open in late 2019.