Skip to main content

Pediatrics faculty honored at Spring Meeting 2017

Thursday, May 11, 2017
Coleen Cunningham, Joe Jackson, Delbert Wigfall

On Monday, May 8th, faculty and staff gathered in the Great Hall of the Trent Semans Center for the 2017 Spring Faculty Meeting.  Department of Pediatrics faculty were recognized with the following awards and nominations.

Michelle P. Winn Inclusive Excellence Award

Presented by Judy Seidenstein, Chief Diversity Officer

The Michelle P. Winn Inclusive Excellence Award, established by the Duke University School of Medicine’s Office of Diversity & Inclusion, recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to diversity and inclusion within the Duke School of Medicine community.  The intent is to honor both faculty and staff who have exemplified a commitment to excellence, innovation, and leadership through creating a more diverse and inclusive environment.  

Delbert R. Wigfall, MD, Professor of Pediatrics

Excellence in Professionalism Award

Presented by Nancy C. Andrews, MD, PhD, Dean of the School of Medicine and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

The School of Medicine Excellence in Professionalism Award recognizes the importance of promoting ethical and professional behavior within our community.  Duke’s success in reaching our goals in research, teaching and patient care depends on our ability to work effectively with each other, to reach across differences, and to actively cultivate a healthy work environment. This award recognizes faculty members who exemplify professionalism and promote such values as honesty, respect, integrity, inclusion, empathy, and compassion.

Joseph A. Jackson, Jr., MD, FAAP, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics

Research Mentoring Awards

Presented by Nancy C. Andrews, MD, PhD, Dean of the School of Medicine and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

The Research Mentoring Awards, established in 2009, recognize faculty members of the Schools of Medicine and Nursing with excellence in research mentoring. Excellence can be demonstrated in many ways such as by the accomplishments of individual mentees, by programs implemented by the mentor, or by exceptional creativity in mentoring.  Winners will be recognized each year in the following categories: clinical science, basic science, and translational research.

Coleen K. Cunningham, MD, Professor of Pediatrics and Pathology (received by Hannah Cunningham)

2017 Distinguished Nominees

Master Clinician/Teacher Awards

  • Aimee B. Chung, MD
  • Gordon Worley, MD

Michelle Winn Inclusive Excellence Award

  • Rasheed Gbadegesin, MD

Arnold P. Gold Foundation - Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award

  • Margarita Bidegain, MD
  • Henry Rice, MD
  • Martha Snyder, MD

Leonard Palumbo, Jr., MD, Faculty Achievement Award

  • Susan Kreissman, MD

Excellence in Professionalism Award

  • Ira Cheifetz, MD

Schools of Medicine and Nursing Research Mentoring Awards

Basic Science

  • Corinne Linardic, MD, PhD

Clinical Science

  • Ronald Goldberg, MD
  • Sallie Permar, MD, PhD

Translational Science

  • Sallie Permar, MD, PhD
  • Henry Rice, MD