Skip to main content

Landstrom wins AHA Early Career Investigator Award

Thursday, November 15, 2018
Andrew Landstrom

Andrew P. Landstrom, MD, PhD, an assistant professor of pediatrics, in the Division of Cardiology, has received the Early Career Investigator Award from the American Heart Association’s (AHA) Council on Cardiovascular Disease in the Young (CVDY) one of its scientific divisions.

Landstrom is a physician-scientist trained in pediatric cardiology, human genetics, and molecular pharmacology. He has been involved in exploring the genetics and molecular causes of sudden cardiac death predisposing diseases for over a decade.

The Council on Cardiovascular Disease in the Young Early Investigator Award recognizes early career investigators who are performing high quality research in the field of pediatric cardiovascular disease. The CVDY Council values developing lasting relationships with clinician scientists who will influence the field and support the Council for years to come.

Landstrom’s award was based on his research to date and the originality, quality and impact of an oral abstract he presented at the Council’s 2018 Cardiovascular Disease in the Young meeting, held November 10-12 in Chicago, Illinois.

Landstrom received his MD and PhD degrees from the Mayo School of Health Sciences and completed his residency in pediatrics, clinical fellowship in pediatrics/cardiology, and advanced clinical fellowship in pediatrics/electrophysiology from the Baylor College of Medicine.

Under the AHA’s criteria, “early career investigators are PhDs and/or MDs who are still in training (e.g., residency, fellowship) or have completed training within the last four years; or PhDs and/or MDs who are within in the first four years after their first faculty appointment as of the award application date.” 

"Winning an AHA Early Career Investigator Award represents a true distinction,” says Ann M. Reed, MD, Samuel L. Katz Professor of Pediatrics and chair of the Department of Pediatrics. “Andrew is highly deserving of this recognition.”