Skip to main content

Fouda elected to AOA Medical Honor Society

Friday, August 30, 2019
Genevieve Giny Fouda Amou'ou

Twice a year the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society elects a small number of new members. The criteria include scholastic achievement, leadership capabilities, ethical standards, fairness in dealing with colleagues, demonstrated professionalism, achievement and/or potential for achievement in medicine, and a record of service to the school and community at large. Membership in AOA is a distinction that accompanies a physician throughout his or her career.

Edward G. Buckley, MD, AOA Councilor, vice dean for education and chair of the Department of Ophthalmology recently announced the members of the Duke community who were elected to the Duke University School of Medicine chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society for the fall 2019.


Genevieve Fouda, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Division of Infectious Diseases

Georgia Beasley, MD, MHS
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Division of Surgical Oncology

Andrew Peterson, MD, MPH
Professor of Surgery
Division of Urology


Julia Black
Helen Daifotis
Heather Frank
Shelby Harper
Joshua Helmkamp
Stephen Kirchner
Amanda Lucier
Lyra Olson
Eleanor Semmes
Rebecca Vernon

Congratulations to all on this well-deserved recognition!