Skip to main content

Chancellor announces search committee for new dean of School of Medicine

Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Davison Building

A committee led by Theodore Pappas, MD will take suggestions from the university community in the search for the new dean of the School of Medicine.

The following message was sent to members of the Duke Health community Wednesday by Chancellor for Health Affairs Dr. A. Eugene Washington.

Today, I am announcing the membership of the search committee for our next dean of the Duke University School of Medicine.  This crucial search is occurring at a critical time for the School, Duke Health, Duke University, and the world of health.  With guidance from this search committee, I am confident we will recruit an exceptional academic leader to be the eighth dean of the School of Medicine.

As we embark on this search, I know you join me in expressing deep gratitude to Dean Nancy Andrews for her outstanding leadership, dedicated service, and significant achievements in leading the School over the past decade.  In partnership with faculty, staff, students, and trainees throughout the school, Dean Andrews immeasurably strengthened our research and education missions, deepened our commitment to diversity, and established a strong foundation on which to build for the future.  We wish Nancy the very best in her next endeavors after she steps down as dean in June of 2017.

I am pleased that Theodore Pappas, MD, Professor of Surgery and Vice Dean for Medical Affairs, has agreed to chair the search committee, and that Blanche Capel, PhD, Professor of Cell Biology, has agreed to serve as vice chair. 

The other members of the search committee include:

  • Kathy Andolsek, MD, MPH, Professor of Community and Family Medicine and Assistant Dean, Premedical Education
  • Ravi Bellamkonda, PhD, Vinik Dean, Pratt School of Engineering
  • Debra Brandon, PhD, RN, Associate Professor and Director of PhD in Nursing Program
  • Geraldine Dawson, PhD, Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Director, Duke Center for Autism and Brain Development
  • Hashim Al Hashimi, PhD, Professor and Director, Duke Center for RNA Biology
  • Joseph Heitman, MD, PhD, James B. Duke Professor and Chair, Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
  • Adrian Hernandez, MD, MHS, Professor of Medicine (Cardiology) and Director, Health Services and Outcomes Research Group, DCRI
  • Shelley Hwang, MD, MPH, Professor and Vice Chair of Research and Chief, Division of Breast Surgery
  • Kimberly Johnson, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine and Senior Fellow, Center for the Study of Aging and Human Development
  • Pia Lapidus, Administrative Manager, School of Medicine (Staff)
  • Robert Lefkowitz, MD, Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute, James B. Duke Professor of Medicine, Professor of Biochemistry and Chemistry
  • Joseph Mathew, MD, MBA, Jerry Reeves Professor and Chair, Department of Anesthesiology
  • Donald McDonnell, PhD, Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology and Cancer Biology
  • Paul Modrich, PhD, Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute, James B. Duke Professor of Biochemistry
  • Martha Monserrate, PE, Member, Duke University Board of Trustees
  • Amy Murtha, MD, Professor and Interim Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Colin O’Leary, President, Davison Council (Student Government Organization)
  • Ann Reed, MD, William Cleland Professor and Chair, Department of Pediatrics
  • John Sampson, MD, PhD, Professor and Chair, Department of Neurosurgery
  • Kevin Sowers, RN, MSN, President, Duke University Hospital
  • Anne West, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Neurobiology
  • Chief of Staff to the Chancellor, Rukmini Balu, PhD, MBA, will serve as associate vice chair of the committee and non-voting member.  Benjamin Reese, Jr., PsyD, Vice President of the Office for Institutional Equity at Duke University and Duke University Health System, will serve as an ex-officio member of the committee.  And we have engaged the executive search firm Isaacson, Miller to assist in the recruitment process.

The committee’s charge is to undertake a national search that is inclusive - drawing on our community’s shared values, broad experience, diverse perspectives, and overarching aspirations.  With these goals in mind, the committee’s first task is to listen and learn to discern what are the most important considerations for this search.  A website will be established soon to allow for confidential communications to be shared with the committee.

Ultimately, the committee will select the distinguished academic leaders to be considered for dean.  We seek a visionary and energetic leader who has achieved at the highest level of academic distinction.  Competitive candidates for dean will also have demonstrated an appreciation for all of our mission areas, a stellar record of building innovative programs, and a penchant for nurturing people and a supportive environment.

Our search will commence immediately.   I extend my thanks to all who will participate in this pivotal undertaking for the School of Medicine and Duke Health.  Together, we will recruit a dean who will assuredly lead our preeminent School of Medicine to even greater heights of excellence and impact.

A. Eugene Washington
Chancellor for Health Affairs, Duke University
President and CEO, Duke University Health System